Unexpected Visit

I was awakened this morning by the sound of my cell phone ringing in my ear. I looked at the screen and saw that the children’s social worker was calling from his cell phone. That is weird in and of itself since the last time he called from that number was six months ago when I first added his contact information into my phone, so I was curious as I answered. “Hello!” “Good morning, how are you?” “Great, how are you,” I responded. “Well, we’re on the way to your house now,” was his response. Thoughts started racing through my brain! “Who is ‘we,’ he’s never brought anyone else with him before?” “Why does he need to bring someone with him?” “Is it because there is bad news?” “Is it because he needs help carrying ‘my’ two precious babies away?” “Am I going to live my nightmare today, the one where my Little Man hangs his head out the window of the social worker’s car as they drive him and his baby sister away and he calls to me, ‘bye-bye mama!'”

I know, I know, these children are not “mine,” they are in foster care and have another family completely, but after 6 1/2 months where I have been there for every diaper change, every meal fed, every bad dream, first steps, first teeth, first words, and so much more, they feel like “mine.” I know that they weren’t always part of our family, but now that they are, I cannot picture our family without them!

Their biological family deserves every single chance to get their children back. They deserve help! They need help! My job is to raise these precious ones to the best of my ability for as long as they need me. And, that is how long I will be here for them… from now until… for as long as they need me!

Oh, and you might be wondering about the whole visit thing… turns out the children’s social worker was training a new social worker on how to do home visits and that is why there was two of them! I am a crazy worrier, I need to get over that! No bad news today, no real new developments in their case at all. The social workers left my house with these parting words, “The babies are not leaving your home anytime soon, so just enjoy your summer!” And, that is exactly what we are going to do!

3 thoughts on “Unexpected Visit

  1. I can’t imagine how hard it must be to know that one day the babies you are loving and raising will move on. It’s one of the reasons we do respite and emergencies. So in my head I know they will always move on. For respite, I know where they’ve come from and where they’re going so that’s easy. It’s the emergency placements, when we don’t always know what the next chapter is for the kiddies that I find hard.
    Enjoy every moment that you have knowing that the love you are giving the children is so important to them now and for helping them to attach to their family if/when the time comes for them to reunify.

  2. I have been where you are, and have had to say goodbye to a few already. It doesn’t get easier, but that’s what we signed up for as foster parents. They will always be ‘ours’, even when they are gone from our sight and our homes. God bless you and your family on this journey, and from another foster mother, and sister in Christ……thank you for your service 🙂

    I just wrote a post on the agony of foster care court dates, which you should totally be able to relate to! http://raisingservantsofchrist.com/2014/06/07/another-day-in-foster-care-court-a-real-look-into-the-trials-of-foster-parenting/

Leave a Reply

