A trip to the ER

Last night I took my very first trip to the ER with Baby Girl. She was unable to sleep last night and was fitful and crying and having trouble breathing. Finally, at 3 o’clock in the morning I decided it was time to go to the emergency room. With my husband being out of town, it made the decision a bit more complicated; however, I have some of the most amazing friends in the entire world and one of them was able to come stay with the big kids while I took Baby Girl to the hospital.

They saw us in the ER immediately! Baby Girl was given two breathing treatments, a steroid shot and they took x-rays of her lungs. That was the worst part by far! She had no idea why she had to be held still for them to be able to take the x-ray and screamed bloody murder the entire time. It was so hard to watch her look up at me with those eyes that said, “get me out of here !” Eventually, they got a good x-ray that showed she did not have pneumonia. Shortly after 6 o’clock in the morning we were cleared to go home. By that time Baby Girl was exhausted and so was I!

Baby Girl came to our home with breathing issues; however, this episode was the worst one yet, so we will be using a nebulizer from here on out to give her breathing treatments at home and hopefully avoid another trip to the ER!

4 thoughts on “A trip to the ER

Leave a Reply

