“What if?” Oh, how I hate those words!

Oh, how my life changes with just one ring of my phone. A beautiful day spent lounging around our pool, watching my kiddos swim and then with just one phone call I am sent for a loop. This “loop” is part of the roller coaster of foster care! “Just enjoy your summer!” I remember those words being said to me by our social worker just a few weeks ago. Now, Monday morning I will be headed to a visit requested by a family member of my two precious foster babies. Not at all enjoyable, in my experience, but nevertheless part of foster care. So, back to that loop. Do I want to go on the loop de loop? Nope! But, these types of experiences seem to send me there!

“What if?” That is the question that keeps plaguing my mind. “What if this family member has decided that they want to get custody?” “What if I lose my babies and never see them again?” “What if the children end up being neglected again?” “What if I can’t do this?” “What if, what if, what if!” I tell myself to be quiet, but I rarely listen. So, I reach for Google and I search bible verses about fear.

Here is what I found! I will post these throughout my house and meditate on them until Monday!

“For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love, and of self-discipline.” 2 Timothy 1:7

“So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.”
Matthew 6:34

“Cast all of your anxiety on HIM, because HE cares for you.”
1 Peter 5:7

Leave a Reply

