Preschool

Today was Little Man’s first day of preschool. Everyone in the entire house was excited for him! We had been pumping him up for the big day for weeks, buying a new back pack, back-to-school clothes, and getting a back-to-school haircut! We had taken him up to his new school to visit, showed him his classroom, and even played on the playground to get him comfortable with the environment. We attended Open House and took a balloon home that night all the while telling him how much fun “school” would be.

The night before his first day, I gave him a warm bath, massaged him with lavender and coconut oil, and played soft lullabies on the I-Pad to get him ready for a good night’s sleep. He went down on time and woke up 9 hours later a very happy camper! He ate a good breakfast, brushed his teeth, and smiled for all of his front porch “First day of school” photos.

We arrived at the school 30 minutes early, sat in the car and held hands while looking through and naming pictures. At 15 minutes til we walked in and got accustomed to where we were. At 5 minutes til the director of the preschool told all of us waiting that we could go on back to the rooms. Teachers lined the halls smiling and waving to all of the little ones as they walked by to find their classrooms. It was a perfect welcome!

We found Little Man’s classroom and his teachers greeted him by name. They showed him where to hang his backpack and had puzzles at the table to do while all of the children arrived. Little Man did great! He fussed for a second, but I leaned down and said, “I love you! I will see you in a little while when you are done with school!” I kissed his cheek and he gave me a big hug and sat down.

We left the school, just Baby Girl, my mother-in-law and me. It was a weird feeling not to have “my” Little Man with me! For 9 months and 6 days I have never ever left him for three hours anywhere! I mean, babysitters have come to the house, but it was always for short periods of time and to watch all of the kiddos or at least a few of them at one time. This was different! I knew he would have fun and I knew he needed this time apart, but it still just felt weird. So, we went to breakfast at a yummy restaurant and then headed to Walmart to print out the pictures I had just taken that morning. (Yes, I am one of those moms!). We walked into Walmart and got a cart. That is when I got the text! He needed me. Little Man lasted 60 minutes on his first day of school. I drove straight to the school! With a scream of, “Ma!” when he saw me, he was happy! Pretty darn good, I think for the first day!

2 thoughts on “Preschool

  1. You are such a good Mommy!! He did great for the first day! My little boy starts preschool this week. He’s been with me for the last 3 years (of course he’s been around other kids, done play dates and had family watch him…) but it’s going to be a little strange having him be away from me 2 mornings a week. I hope your Little Man has lots of fun in preschool this year!

Leave a Reply

