The day I met him…

The day I met him, I was 19 years old. We were in college. I was a sorority girl, he was a fraternity boy. I was working and going to school. He had a scholarship. I had NO idea that I was about to meet “the one!” It was April 20, 2000 and I had just gotten off work. I went to visit a friend at his fraternity and there at the top of the back stairway stood the hottest guy I had ever seen! Yes, I admit it… It was his looks that first got my attention. We hung out with a group of friends that first night and pretty much spent every waking minute together after that until the day he left for Basic Training two and a half years later. By then, we were married and had our first daughter.

As I sit here tonight waiting for him to call and trying to relax after spending the day fixing meals, grocery shopping, washing clothes, snuggling babies, helping with math homework, and driving to and from soccer, I think back to that day in 2000. The day when I met him. It was that day that started it all! If you would have told me that night in 2000 that 14 years later I would be raising our 5 children alone while this super cute guy standing next to me spent 10 months serving overseas I would have told you that you were crazy!

I guess this is a bit “crazy!” But, it’s our crazy and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

Leave a Reply

