Meeting her…

Next Tuesday, I will be meeting her… the woman who carried my foster babies in her womb, the woman who gave them life. This same woman disappeared last year and has not been around for the past 10 1/2 months. I am scared! I have pre-conceived notions that she is going to hate me! I am so nervous to meet her, to sit in the same room with her as she sees her children for the very first time in almost a year. I have raised her children. I have been there for every hug, every kiss, every nighttime prayer. I have seen first steps, heard first words, and watched them grow! I got to take Little Man to his first day of preschool and Baby Girl has been with me more of her life than anyone else. How will this woman react? Will she strike out in anger? Will there be a scene? How will all of this affect the children? Will they remember her? Will Little Man run to her? Will Baby Girl cry? I do not know…

All I know is that I am in this for the long haul. I cannot get scared. I am doing this for them, for the babies. I will go through whatever it takes to protect them, be the constant in their lives. This is foster care. It is hard. It is gut-wrenchingly painful. It is emotional. It is sad. But, THEY are worth it!

3 thoughts on “Meeting her…

  1. My advice is to have thick skin. She may make comments correcting things you do or have been doing with these babies for the last 10 1/2 months. Obviously, they’ve been working for you, but she will most likely try to insert herself back into their lives in order to try to prove she is a good mom. Just be patient and smile and nod. It’s not easy, but you can do it!

Leave a Reply

