So much can change in a day!

I took Little Man to his visit today. What was supposed to be he and his father visiting turned out to be his father, his two grandmothers, another female relative and him visiting. To say the very least it freaked Little Man out! He screamed the first 20 minutes of the visit. He called for me, he coughed, he spit, he yelled! I cried in the other room. It was torture. He did eventually stop crying and the visit ended on a much better note than it started. Afterwards, we left for home.

On the way home, I got a text message from Little Man’s social worker saying she’d be at our house later in the day for a visit. I got home, put Little Man down for his nap and gave Baby Girl a snack. An hour and a half later their social worker pulled into our driveway as Baby Girl and I pushed her little stroller around in the front yard.

Then, the bomb was dropped. The social worker informed me she had some news. After 364 days of her grandson being in foster care, one of the grandmothers was now wanting to take custody of Little Man! What? “Where has she been for the last year?” I thought. Wow! That was a curveball. Never has she visited, never has she called! Nothing for an entire year and now this! I don’t think any child should live in foster care if there is a caring, safe, and loving relative that can and wants to take care of them. I don’t want Little Man or Baby Girl to live one more second in foster care! I want them to have permanency! I want them to have forever! I want them to have it all! But, wow! This new development sure changes things. We will see where this all goes!

So much can change in a day!

7 thoughts on “So much can change in a day!

  1. When I read your post, my heart sank. Because I know that feeling. That surreal feeling that suddenly your life is falling apart. I’m so very sorry. While I think it’s great for kids to stay with their families, you are Little Man’s family now. More than that grandmother is.

    Maybe she won’t be approved by social services for placement. The only thing we can do now is pray. Pray for what’s best for these babies and pray for protection for your heart.

    But you don’t have to pretend that it doesn’t hurt. Because it does. It sucks. It really sucks.

    Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

