It broke my heart.

My dear sweet neighbor died this morning. I have cleaned his house for the last 2+ years and have grown to love him and his family. He was elderly and had led a full life, but death always brings tears. It broke my heart to sit at his bedside those last few hours he was really awake. It broke my heart to watch his daughter run into her father’s room after a ten hour drive, hoping she had gotten there in time to say, “goodbye.” It broke my heart those four days of waiting as we all checked on him and sat with him and talked to him even though he wasn’t really there anymore. It broke my heart. And this morning when I got the expected text at 4:00 a.m. that he had breathed his last breath, it still broke my heart.

One thought on “It broke my heart.

Leave a Reply

