Nobody has called to say he’s okay!

I pretty much poured my heart out at the courthouse last Tuesday.  I was kind, friendly, and proactive.  I gave endless stories from the last 16 months that Little Man was in foster care and shared all of his favorites and some of his dislikes as well.  Making the transition easy on my little guy was my goal.  Making friends with his bio family was my goal as well.  I’ve always been kind and friendly to them.  Since day one, I’ve seen us all as being on the same team.  Team Little Man!  Even when they didn’t seem too interested in his life, I still provided pictures, drawings, and school work to show how he was growing and developing.  Now, I sit here with nothing, not even a phone call to say that he is okay.  I kept his life with us a completely open book the entire time he was “our son.”  All I want is to know that he is okay.  But, it seems they have closed that book, ended the story and my heart hurts so bad that it is hard to breathe! 

10 thoughts on “Nobody has called to say he’s okay!

  1. I’m so sorry. I think someday, they may regret handling it this way. You, on the other hand, will be able to look back and know you didn’t make choices selfishly or based on wanting the opportunity to adopt Little Man; you made them with Little Man’s wellbeing in mind.

    • Thank you Jackie! I’m so sad! I really tried to make a very positive connection with his bio family. I feel like we should all be on the same “team,” working towards a happy healthy life for Little Man.

  2. You amaze me! Your strength is inspiring and I am so heartbroken to hear that you don’t have Little Man anymore. I have enjoyed hearing his adventures through the time and how he has adjusted. Although I’m a birth mom and adoption is slightly different than foster, I can’t imagine anyone better that I would want my kid with if he/she would have to go through foster care. They may not understand it now and may feel you as a threat, but one day it will make sense because God has it all worked out. Until then,I will keep you in prayers. Icoudlnt imagine doing what you do. Stay strong. You’re doing great!

  3. My heart breaks for you and your family. What you are going through is unfair … I wish I could give you the magic cure, but only time and God can heal it. I will be praying that they will have a change of heart. Maybe Baby Girl can be a window into staying in touch …

  4. Heart breaking. My heart hurts for you. We will never know why things turn out the way they do at times. Just remember that Jesus said he would never leave us nor forsake us. He is with little man and he is with you.

  5. I’m so sorry. We’re in the same boat. Our foster son went home 2 weeks ago. We had talked every day with bio mom to update her, opened our home for visitations, sent pictures, shared stories, and poured ourselves into helping our foster son and his family. And now not even a text. This foster care world is rough. All I can hope for is maybe someday your foster son’s family and my foster son’s family will both recognize how much we care, and feel comfortable enough to share with us how our sons are doing.

Leave a Reply

