T’s “firsts” with us!

We pulled off the main country road into a dirt parking lot.  My husband and I have been bringing our kids here for years.  It’s the local “Pumpkin Patch.”  They have a petting zoo, a corn maze, and a hay ride out to pick your pumpkins off the vine.  It was one of the first outings that we took T on after he came to stay with us.  The day was beautiful and the weather was perfect!  The kids enjoyed every single activity the small farm had to offer.  And then, we got in the truck to drive home.  The voice from the back seat was mixed with excitement and wonder as he proclaimed, “that was my first time at a pumpkin patch!”  My heart filled with joy!  “Can we carve our pumpkins when we get home,” he asked.  “Sure,” I said.

We searched the Internet for pumpkin designs.  We decided to draw our own after looking at examples.  T helped everyone scoop out the goo from their pumpkins.  It was quite possibly his favorite part.  The face was drawn, oval eyes and a drooling mouth.  He turned it around to admire his work and exclaimed, “I just carved my very first pumpkin!”  My heart skipped a beat!  

Leave a Reply

